Staff Lists

Academic StaffProfessional StaffAll Staff Directory

Our people

Academic Staff of the School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

The School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering has 29 academic staff, 42 research staff and 25 support staff. Current staff are listed below with information on their primary area of research or responsibility.

Academic (Teaching and Research) Staff


Field of Expertise/Responsibility

Head of School

Stefan WILLIAMS  BASc Wat PhD Professor, Mechatronics


Steven ARMFIELD   BSc Flin PhDComputational Fluid Mechanics
Julie CAIRNEY  B.Met.Eng PhD UNSWDirector of Australian Centre for Microscopy & Microanalysis, Materials Characterisation
Gregory CHAMITOFF  BS Cal Poly MS Caltech PhD MIT MS UHCL, AssocFAIAA Lawrence Hargrave Professor of Aeronautical Engineering, Spacecraft Dynamics and Control, Autonomous Vehicles
Qing LI  BE ME Hunan ME UTS PhDBiomedical Engineering
Xiaozhou LIAO  BSc Huaqiao MSc Dalian PhDTransmission Electron Microscopy
Yiu-wing MAI  BSc(Eng) PhD DSc HonDSc HK DEng, AM FRS FREng FAA FTSE FHKEng FWIF FASME FHKIEUniversity Chair and Personal Chair in Mechanical Engineering, Advanced Materials and Fracture Mechanics
Assaad R MASRI  BE PhD Combustion
Eduardo NEBOT  BS Bahia Blanca MS PhD Colorado State Director, Australian Center for Field Robotics, Field Robotics
Simon Peter RINGER  BAppSc, 1986, Uni SA; PhD, 1991, UNSW; CPEng, FIEAust, MIMEA.Director, Australian Institute of Nanoscale Science and Technology (AINST) and Director, Core Research Facilities, Phase transformations and properties of materials
Andrew RUYS  BE(Hons I) PhD UNSWBiomedical Engineering
Gregg SUANING  Biomedical Engineering
Salah SUKKARIEH  BE PhDField Robotics
Roger I TANNER  BSc Brist MS Calif PhD Manc, FRS FAA FTSE FASME HonFIEAust FAFMSPN Russell Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Rheology
Liyong TONG  BSc MEngSc Dalian PhD BUAA, FIEAust MAIAAFEA, Composite & Intelligent Structures
Lin YE  BSc Harbin MS PhD BUAA, FTSEComposite Materials, Director CAMT
Hala ZREIQAT  Bsc(Hons) Jordan PhD UNSWTissue Engineering and Biomaterials Research

Associate Professor

Colin DUNSTAN  BSc, MSc UNSW, PhDBone Biology and Biomaterials
Peter GIBBENS   BE, PhD Ncle(NSW), MAIAAFlight Mechanics
Ahmad JABBARZADEH  BE, MES, PhDRheology and Molecular Simulation
Michael KIRKPATRICK  BE PhD MIEAust Thermo-Fluids Engineering
Ian MANCHESTER  BE(Hons I) PhD UNSW Control, Optimization, Robotics
David C RYE  BE Adel PhD Field Robotics
Ben THORNBER  MEng Edin MSS ISU MSc Imperial PhD Cranfield, CEng MRAeS FHEAAerodynamics

Senior Lecturer

Douglass J AULD  BSc, BE(Hons), MEngSc, PhDAerospace Engineering
Graham BROOKER  B.Sc M.Sc (Eng) Wits PhDMillimetre Wave Radar
Li CHANG  BSc ME Tsinghua, PhD KaiserlauternAdvanced Materials and Precision Manufacturing
Matthew CLEARY  BE(Mech) BE(Nav Arch) PhDCombustion
Dries VERSTRAETE  BSc MSc (MechEng) MSc (AeroEng) PhD Cranfield Aerospace Design
Gareth VIO  BEng (Hons) PhD ManAeroelasticity


Mitchell BRYSON  BEng Sydney PhD SydneyAided Inertial Navigation Systems, Simultaneous Localisation and Mapping (SLAM), Un-manned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs)
Matthew DUNN  BE PhDCombustion
Agisilaos KOURMATZIS  BEng Nottingham MSc Imperial PhD Southampton, CEng MIMechE Multiphase Flow
Andre KYME  BSc Hons (Physics), MSc (Physics), PhD (Physics)Biomedical Engineering
Yogambha RAMASWAMY  BE Bangalore MS UQ PhD SydneyBiomaterials and Tissue Engineering
Nicholas WILLIAMSON  BE Auckland PhDFluid Mechanics
Xiaofeng WU  BE NWPU PhD LboroSpace Engineering

Associate Lecturer

Abdul Malik ALTAEE   (P/T) Mechanics of Solids
Philip BOUGHTON  BE UNSW PhDBiomedical Engineering and Device Development
Paul BRIOZZO  BE UTSMachine Design, Crashworthiness, Rapid Prototyping, CNC Machining
Rodney FIFORD  BE(Hons) PhDSafety and Risk Analysis, Epistemology of Engineering, Engineering Education, and Humanitarian Engineering
Young Jung NO   Biomaterials & Tissue Engineering

Executive Director of Space Engineering

Warwick HOLMES  BSc, BE(Hons), MTM(UNSW) Space Engineering

Emeritus Professor

Graeme BIRD  BSc, ME, PhD, Foreign Assoc. NAE (USA), FTSE, Fellow AIAA,FRAeS, FIE (Aust)Molecular Gas Dynamics
Grant STEVEN  BSc (Hons 1) Glas DPhil Oxf, FIE(Aust) FRAeS FTSEFEA and Software Development

Visiting Professor

Anthony KINLOCH  BSc (Hons) PhD DSc (Eng) Lond , CChem CEng FRSC FIMMM FIMechE FCGI FREng FRSAdhesion and Adhesives, Toughened Polymers and the Fracture of Polymers and Fibre-composites
Yo SHIBATA  Biomaterials
Gordon WILLIAMS   BSc (Eng) Phd DSc Lond, FRS FCGI FREng FIMechE FIMFracture Mechanics and Advanced Materials

Honorary Professor

John Dennis BOBYN  BSc MEng McGill PhD TorontoOrthopaedic biomaterials and biomechanics, hip and knee joint replacement implant design, implant fixation, tissue response and bone remodeling, implant wear and retrieval analysis
Arthur BRANDWOOD  Biomedical Devices
Paul CARTER  BSc Exeter PhD S’tonBioelectronics
Xinquan JIANG  Regenerative Medicine for dental and bone restoration
John H KENT  BE MEngSc PhD, FIEAustThermo-fluids
Nhan PHAN-THIEN  BE PhD Sydney, FAA Rheology

Adjunct Associate Professor

David Rhett BUTLER  BE (Mechanical) Sydney MEngSc Sydney/UNSW MBA Deakin MScSoc UNSWWater Quality

Research Affiliate

Wei LI  Biomechanics

Conjoint Associate Lecturer

Tegan CHENG  Biomedical Engineering

Honorary Associate

Lilach BAREKET  Bioelectronics
Alejandro BARRIGA-RIVERA  Neurophysiology for Vision Restoration
Moray KIDD  Reliability Engineering
Alexandre LA FONTAINE  (Madsen) Atomic scale characterization of materials
Boon QUAH  Biologics
Guodong SHI  Network Optimisation
Surjani UTHAYAKUMARAN  BSc MSc Madr, PhDRheology


Brian COTTERELL  Materials
Karkenahalli SRINIVAS  BE Bangalore ME PhD IIScCFD, Bio fluid flows

------- Academic (Research Only) Staff -------

ARC Future Fellow

Yanbo WANG  TEM of Nanomaterials

Research Fellow

Hong-yuan LIU  (P/T) Materials
Zufu LU  (P/T) Tissue Engineering

Postdoctoral Fellow

Quantian LUO  Smart Structures

NHMRC Early Career Fellow

Yogambha RAMASWAMY  Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering

ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher

Xianghai AN  In-situ deformation TEM of Materials
Faxiang QIN  (P/T) Composites
Guangyong SUN  Engineering Optimization

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Zibin CHEN  Electron Microscopy Investigation of Materials
Markus Benjamin FLAIG  Fluid Dynamics
Mohammad Saiful ISLAM  (P/T) Materials Science and Engineering
Miriam JACKSON  (P/T) Tissue Engineering
Mrinal JUDDOO  (P/T) Combustion
Xuan Phuong PHAM  Combustion
Fatemeh SALEHI  Computations of Turbulent Combustion
Sten STARNER  (P/T) Combustion
Scott STEINMETZ  Combustion
Tania VODENITCHAROVA  Modelling of fracture in cutting

Research Associate

Zibin CHEN  MPhilNanomaterial

------- Professional Staff --------

School Manager

Catherine KINSELLA  

Finance Manager

Christy WANG  

Administrative Officer

Vinita MARTIN  Head of School Office
Bronwyn SEXTON  Postgraduate Studies and Marketing

Education Support Coordinator

Wendy LIANG  Undergraduate Studies

Finance Officer

Shirley ALI  

Administrative Assistant

Elaine LUU  

Computer Support

Peter NGUYEN  

Biomedical Engineer

Jin Feng YU  Biomedical Sciences

Research Assistant


Senior Technical Officer

Greg ELDER  
Duncan STENGER   AMME Workshop Manager

Professional Officer (Aerospace Engineering)

Derrick HO  

Technical Officer

Shao Cong DAI  Casual
Robert FALLOWS  
Stanley KARKADA  
Alexander MASSEY  
Hongjian Andy WANG  

Technical Assistant

Daniel LANCASTER  Casual
John POTTS  

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Anna Vallarta CEGUERRA  (Madsen) Computer Science and Microscopy